Cookies · Uncategorized

Butter Cookies

There comes a time in every woman’s life when she has to organize her recipes….that time has come for me. Month’s ago my laptop crashed, I lost everything and yes I know, I should have backed up or used the cloud thingy, but I didn’t…….moving forward.

This is when I wished I’d kept a recipe book, crammed it full of  recipes from my grandmother or recipes I had stolen out of magazines, while waiting for the doctor or dentist but I didn’t, and now I don’t even have a laptop with recipes……………….sad face.

To be honest I don’t really follow recipes, in fact I struggle too. To often I have attempted a recipe promising NOT to deviate from it but I always end up, doing ‘my thing’….cooking by recipe is very restricting for me.

It is however, comforting to have recipes to fall back on and is one of the reason I have decided to blog. Now I’m forced to write out the recipes/patterns, save them on an external hard drive and in the ‘Cloud’ because let’s face it, digging for recipes can be so undignified. Rifling through the desk drawers, unpacking & repacking the filing cabinet, and my favourite, scratching through every handbag I’ve owned….very elegant!20160908_142030555_ios

But the good news is, I found my Dutch butter cookie recipe scribbled on a grubby serviette.

I love this recipe, I know it off by heart. I’ve made a lot of cookies as a mom and a chef and this recipe wins hands down.  It’s dead simple, freezable and can be pimped up a 1000’s ways.

So here is the Dutch Butter cookie recipe, printed, saved & blogged – tick.

20160908_143051527_ios

Dutch Butter Cookies

Ingredients

  • 200g cake flour
  • 150g butter soften
  • 125g white sugar
  • 5ml vanilla essence
  • Pinch of salt

Method:

  • Place all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until it comes together in the shape of a ball.20160908_133540249_ios
  • Sprinkle flour onto your work surface and shape the dough into a log.
  • Place in the fridge for 30min to harden. Remove from the fridge, slice into discs and sprinkle with a little brown sugar.
  • Place on a greased baking tray, and bake @ 180C for 20min or until crisp and lightly golden brown. They will firm up once they cool.

Note:

  • You can freeze the dough in the log shape. When needed slice some disc and return the log to the freezer.20160908_135311743_ios
  • You can make all sorts of shapes too. Roll into balls & press down with a floured fork or create an indentation with your finger and fill with a little jam (1/2 tsp) or glazed cherry20160908_134935828_ios
  • Add choc chip to the dough for choc chip cookies. Add the choc chip once the dough has been formed.
  • Drizzle with melted chocolate once cookies have baked & cooled down

 

 

Leave a comment