Cookies · Uncategorized

Big Girl Crunchies.

Women in my family have psychological problems regarding our bladders……………………………..bear with me here.

Coming home for me is like a scene from an action movie……………a car screeching to a halt, sprinting for the front door while unbuckling the belt, trying to get the key into the door as fast as you can, tripping over the bag & parcels as they are dumped unceremoniously, then bolting for the toilet with your pants around your knees.

Why all the drama? Because I have the biggest wee on board, a wee the size of Victoria falls and if I don’t get to the toilet on time, I’m going to have a beeeg accident……………….  BUT it’s never the Victoria Falls, it’s not even Howick Falls during a drought, it’s just a little trickle because when I left work 2 mins ago I went to the toilet. It’s all psychological. No matter where I’ve been, coming home is always the same story. My mother does it, I do it and so does my daughter.

Try going to the supermarket,  I’m fine until I hit the frozen food section (9/10 it’s the puff pastry) then I desperately, urgently, life threateningly NEED to find a toilet NOW! I know every toilet, in every supermarket personally……true story. There are times when I can push through the urge. A few deep breathing exercises or some cross legged staring at the shelves pretending to look for roasted smoked paprika while sucking the life out of my bladder or repeatedly saying to myself “back away from pastry” in an Arnie Schwarzenegger voice has done the trick. Let me go shopping with lovie or friends, no drama, let me go alone, then I know it’s time to hurl out the big girl panties.

The word,  big girl panties reminds me of my  crunchie recipe which has become famous at home as ‘big girl crunchies. I won’t go into detail about how they got their name, that’s another story/blog all together.

The good news is, you don’t need a bladder with a psychological problem or a pair of big girl panties to make these super big, super crunchy and super yummy crunchies,  just a few store bought ingredients.

Big Girl Crunchies

484488_4348767879394_867174924_n.jpg

Ingredients

  • 250ml Oats
  • 250ml coconut
  • 250ml sugar
  • 250ml self raising flour
  • 125ml melted butter
  • 30ml syrup

Method

  • Pre heat the oven to 180C
  • Place all the dry ingredients into a bowl.
  • Mix syrup with 45ml of warm water. Pour the melted butter and syrup mix over the dry ingredients.
  • Mix well.
  • Grease a large non-stick baking tray. Shape into golf balls then flatten with the palm of your hand straight onto the baking tray. Use the tips of your fingers to spread the mixture out thinly. If you find the mixture too dry wet your hands slightly.
  • I make my crunchies approx 6-8cm wide but you are most welcome to make them any size. The trick is to make them nice & thin.
  • Bake in the pre-heated oven for 20 -25 min or until golden brown. Remember they will harden once out of the oven.As soon as you can, transfer them to a wire rack to cool down completely.
  • Store in an air -tight container or plastic bag. They soften quickly if the humidity gets it.

Makes 8 -10 big ones

 

Leave a Reply

