Soups

Quick Chicken Noodle Soup

My mother doesn’t ‘do’ sick people. You had to be throwing an apocalyptic fit, burning up like a runaway fire or clinging to the edge of the toilet for dear life, before she’d even consider keeping you off school.

Thankfully my father did sick people. He would bring us strong sweet tea, sit at the edge of the bed and tell us stories. He would try to convince my mother NOT to send us to school but seldom got it right.

No matter what your symptoms are, my mother has a cure for everything from a headache, sore tummy, cough and sore throat. Drink water, have a poo and lie down in a dark room, in that order. We never went to the doctor unless the child protection officer rocked up………………….kidding…………broken bones, blood or anything ‘foreign’ was allowed a visit to the doctor. We spent a hellva lot of time at the pharmacy, goodness knows why, it’s not like she bought us any medicine. Her comments were ” when you have 4 children why go to the doctor, when you can visit your local chemist for free”……………okey dokey!

My children insist,  I’m like my mother and don’t ‘do’ sick people and they’re right. I’ve sent my kids to school with broken arms & ribs, bronchitis and middle ear infections, not some of my proudest moments but I honestly didn’t think they were that sick…… I mean,  they still alive today….that should count for something.

Anyway poor Lovie has been so sick with flu, real flu NOT man flu. I wish my mother and kids could see how I’ve nursed him back to health…..taking his temp every 2 sec, mopping his brow, giving him his medicine, feeding him little morsels of soup, fetching and carrying and the list goes on……….. hopefully he doesn’t get sick anytime soon, this nursing s&%t is exhausting.

Which brings me to my point. So much time is taken up by sick people. There’s the doctors visit and inevitable wait, then the trip to the pharmacy, then the nursing and reminders to take their medicine and so it goes. No wonder we don’t do sick people…..we didn’t have time,  or that’s my excuse anyway ….

A simple bowl of chicken & noodle soup is said to cure the common cold. Scientists agree that the combination of a clear broth, veg & chicken,  work together scientifically to make you feel better.

I believe it’s because it takes the ‘nurse’ 30min tops to make saving her time & energy and the ‘sick tick’ feels loved and cared for so miraculously feels better.

20161107_125633410_ios

Quick chicken noodle soup

Ingredients

  • 30ml olive oil
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 2 celery sticks, finely chopped
  • 2x cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 2x chicken breasts
  • 2L of chicken stock – I use 4x chicken stock cubes in 2L of water
  • 1x packet of 2 min noodles
  • 30ml chopped parsley or leafy tips of celery stalk.

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot.
  2. Add the carrots, celery, garlic & onion.
  3. Saute for 3 minutes or until the onions are soft.
  4. Remove the flesh from the bone of the chicken breast. Do not discard the bones. Chop the flesh into cubes
  5. Add the chopped chicken including the bones to the pot…. there is no need to brown the chicken
  6. Add the chicken stock and simmer for 15-20minutes.
  7. Check your seasoning then add the 2 min noodles (adding the sachet is optional).
  8. Remove from the heat, place a lid on the pot and let stand for 5 minutes.
  9. Serve with crusty bread or in this case, wafers for the sick tick.

172804355

Serves 6-8

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

