Fruit · Uncategorized

‘After the gall bladder’ – Stewed fruit recipe.

As life would have it, I was happily sunning myself away on my 3 weeks annual summer leave, when life threw me a massive gall bladder attack, with complications….it was bad, horrid, the worst thing ever to happen to me, so I will spare you the details ….

I spent days in hospital undergoing tests ….we won’t go there either, but I would like to mention, that I had to walk slash run on a treadmill wearing thrombosis socks and my towelling robe….true story. I didn’t die…………….obviously …..but I did lose a part of me ……very traumatic…..I would have nailed it, if I was wearing my running shoes …..just saying.

After the operation, I spent the next 5 days surviving on a diet of jelly, instant mash and a ton of drugs. Boredom finally kicked in and I found myself trawling the hospital corridors in my thrombosis socks with slops, my towelling robe and my drain hanging out, until I was arrested for indecent exposure.

I was finally sent home (with the thrombosis socks) and a kg of drugs. Lovie was so happy to have me home, it made me feel better. My mom came to baby-sit me and that was cool because I didn’t have to wash the dishes.

Recovery has been slow, but I’m on the mend. I’ve had to make a huge lifestyle change….I’ve eliminated fat and sugar from my diet so sadly NO gourmet of gourmet meals for now.

From now on, my life will be defined by ‘before the gall bladder’ and ‘after the gall bladder’. So most of my recipes will be ‘after the gall bladder’ – healthier and better for you.

Psst….I’m sure to sneak in a few  ‘before the gall bladder’ recipes too.

So here’s the 1st, of many ‘after the gall bladder’ recipes.

Note: This recipe was inspired by a ton of drugs which created problems with my bowel movements….I know, too much information but there is  nothing like a bowl of stewed fruit, with yoghurt to get things moving.

Stewed Fruit20170122_095937427_ios

  • 500g of dried mixed fruit or a 400g’s of dried fruit salad from Pick n Pay
  • 125ml of raisins
  • 125ml of cranberries
  • Cinnamon stick
  • 2x Rooibos tea bags or your favourite herbal tea flavour
  • 30ml sugar or honey (optional)

To serve – plain yoghurt & honey20170122_100057759_ios

Method: Using a slow cooker – read further for stove top. 

  • Chop the contents of the dried mixed fruit into smaller pieces – leave the pips in the prunes as they are a mission to remove.
  • Add everything to the slow cooker including the teabags.
  • Add 1L of boiling water, place the lid and set the slower cooker on high and cook for 3-4hrs – keep checking to see there is enough liquid  – you don’t want the fruit to dry out. You might need to top up with liquid – you’re going to have to eye ball it.
  • I usually remove the tea bags after the first hour but if you forget, no sweat.
  • Once your fruit is nice and soft, turn off the slow cooker and allow the fruit to cool down completely. It will thicken slightly as it cools.
  • Serve with thick Greek yoghurt and a drizzle of honey – delish

*Mixtures freezes beautifully*

Method: Using the stove top

  • Chop the contents of the dried mixed fruit into smaller pieces – leave the pips in the prunes as they are a mission to remove.
  • Add everything to a heavy based pot including the teabags.
  • Add 1L of boiling water, bring the mixture to the boil. Turn the heat down to a slow simmer, place the lid on top and simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 hrs  – keep checking to see there is enough liquid  – you don’t want the fruit to dry out. You might need to top up with liquid – you’re going to have to eye ball it.
  • I usually remove the tea bags after the first hour but if you forget, no sweat.
  • Once your fruit is nice and soft, turn off the heat and allow the fruit to cool down completely. It will thicken slightly as it cools.
  • Serve with thick Greek yoghurt and a drizzle of honey – delish

*Mixtures freezes beautifully*

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

