Canapes · Pasta · Starters

Marinated cherry tomatoes because my mother told me so…

As a kid I always thought my mother the ‘queen of dishing out useless information’. Information that appeared to be so useless at the time, you fobbed it off, until one day you find yourself scrubbing the basin at work with a lemon to remove a stain and it worked and everyone thought you were so clever – the Queen of Useless information told me that.

Or the time I found myself partially freezing my home-made meatballs on plates, before placing them in freezer bags to freeze properly, so I didn’t end up with squashed meatballs. Once again the QofU (Queen of Useless info) showed me that.

Other bits of useless information that have proved useful in time are:

  • Lawnmowers & swimming pools – know how to mow the lawn and clean the pool but pretend you can’t – this proved extremely useful in my 1st marriage.
  • How to take a corner real fast…. a big plus when the police are after you………………kidding
  • Man vs animal behaviour comparison  – in a home full of girls my mother would compare my brother and father’s behaviour to roosters, dogs & lions – her version of Men are from Mars, Women from Venus.  I hate to admit it but this information was very useful when dealing with teenage boys.

Then 3 months ago while taking me for my morning walk, she dropped another piece of ‘useless’ info. At the time, I was desperately trying hard, not to cough up a lung (I was feeling very fragile after my surgery….just saying) while she went on about peeling ‘wild’ cherry tomatoes because their skins can be tough.  I remember thinking, who in their right mind peels cherry tomatoes.

Then low & behold while flicking through an old foodie magazine,  out jumped a marinated cherry tomato & bruschetta recipe and believe it or not, the cherry tomatoes were PEELED…true story. The recipe was beautifully written with the use of descriptive words like ‘marinated flavour bombs’, therapy for fingers and nuggets of explosive wonders, it convinced me to give it a go.

So I did,  what all good kitchen managers do, I delegated the peeling of the cherry tomatoes to one of my staff.  I was surprised at how quick it took (less than 5 min to peel) and within 15 minutes, I had a bottle filled with beautifully marinated cherry tomatoes just waiting to be devoured.20170609_164205345_iOS

3 days later I was ooing & aaing over my sourdough, cream cheese & marinated cherry tomato bruschetta….seriously good. Since then I’ve made more and popped them into pasta’s, taken them on a picnic, they were loved by all and tossed them though a simple green salad.

Trust me, give them a go, you will thank me later. Now I’m off to make a batch of marinated cherry tomatoes for the Queen of Useless information, because without her, I wouldn’t be the women I am today.

Recipe: Marinated Cherry Tomatoes.

  • Punnet of cherry tomatoes (250g – 400g)
  • 50-100ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 30-60ml white wine vinegar or any vinegar
  • 3 cloves of fresh garlic – smashed
  • 2 bay leaves (fresh) or sprig of fresh rosemary
  • 2 small red chillies (leave whole)
  • Salt & Black pepper
  1. To blanch the cherry tomatoes, score the bottom of each with a sharp knife. Take care not to cut all the way through and expose the seeds.20170608_124412379_iOS
  2. Drop the tomatoes into a pot of boiling water and allow to boil for 30 seconds before lifting them out and placing them into a bowl of iced water
  3. The skins will immediately start to loosen by themselves. Carefully peel the skins off and place the tomatoes in a sterilised bottle.
  4. In a small jug, mix together all the marinade ingredients. Pour over the cherry tomatoes and allow to marinate for at least 24hrs. 20170608_130251969_iOS
  5. Keeps in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

